Issue #14

follow us on Twitter

January 23, 2017


An Online Magazine of International Track and Field Images

NCAA Cross Country Champions Decided


Contributing Photographers

Patrick Holleran

Phil Johnson

Steve Klotz

Randy Miyazaki

Kim Spir

Subscribe to Track Photographer Twitter List

Men’s Team Competition The Northern Arizona Lumberjacks were favored in the team competition. They performed as expected, winning the team competition by a comfortable margin over Stanford. They were led by Futsum Zienasellassie (c) in 4th place and Matthew Baxter (r) in 11th.

                     Photos by Patrick Holleran

Individual Competitions This year’s race provided two unexpected individual champions.

In the 2015 race Patrick Tiernan of Villanova, an Australian, finished 2nd in the individual race to Oregon’s Edward Cheserek. In this year’s race, however, Tiernan finally won his first NCAA championship, pulling away over the latter section of the race.

In the women’s competition, the race came down to three competitors--favored Erin Finn of Michigan, Anna Rohrer of Notre Dame, and Karissa Schweizer of Missouri. Rohrer led late in the race, but first Finn and then the winner Schweizer overtook her down the closing straight.


Photos by Patrick Holleran

Other Top Individual Finishers Junior Justyn Knight of Syracuse was expected to do well in the individual competition, and he matched expectations with a runner-up performance for the team champions.

Edward Cheserek of Oregon was going for his 4th consecutive individual championship, but he was able to finish in 3rd place as a senior.

In the women’s competition Michigan senior Erin Finn was the favorite, but although she came close and led near the finish line she finished in 2nd place.

Sophomore Anna Rohrer of Notre Dame made a move near the end of the race and led late in the race. She was caught by the top two finishers and finished 3rd, still a significant improvement over her 6th place finish as a freshman


Photos by Patrick Holleran

Team Championships

Women’s Team Competition Nobody expected the Oregon Ducks to win the women’s team championship in 2016, but excellent performances by all members of the team earned them the title. These performances included freshman Katie Rainsberger (l) in 4th and Alli Cash (c) in 14th.                  

Photos by Patrick Holleran