Issue #11

follow us on Twitter

January 21, 2016


An Online Magazine of International Track and Field Images

Athletes Recognized in Awards Season


Contributing Photographers

Patrick Holleran

Phil Johnson

Steve Klotz

Randy Miyazaki

Kim Spir

Subscribe to Track Photographer Twitter List

Bowerman Finalists 3 male and 3 female athletes are named each year as finalists for the Bowerman Award. For the men, the other two finalists were Shawn Barber of the University of Akron and Edward Cheserek of the University of Oregon. Barber was the NCAA indoor and outdoor pole vault champion. He went on later in the year to win the world championship in that event. Cheserek, just a junior, won both the 5000 and 10000 meter races at the NCAA Championships outdoors, and won the indoor NCAA mile and anchored the champion Oregon Distance Medley Relay. In the fall, Cheserek defended his NCAA Cross-Country Championship and became the first athlete to win 3 consecutive NCAA individual championships in cross-country.

Photos by Patrick Holleran

Two Time NCAA Champion Molly Seidel

Major Award Winners As 2015 drew to a close various track and field athletes were named winners of some of the most prestigious awards in the sport. The IAAF named decathlete Ashton Eaton winner of the World Athlete of the Year, recognizing him as the sports #1 athlete. Eaton won his second world championship in the decathlon and broke his own world record in the process. Middle distance runner Genzebe Dibaba was the women’s award winner. Eaton was also named Track and Field News male Athlete of the Year. The Bowerman Award, given to the top male and female collegiate athletes, was given to long and triple jumper Marquis Dendy of the University of Florida and sprinter/jumper Jenna Prandini of the University of Oregon.

Photos by Patrick Holleran

Female Finalists The other finalists were Kendra Harrison of the University of Kentucky and Demi Payne of Stephen F. Austin. Harrison won the NCAA indoor 60 meter hurdles and the outdoor 100 meter hurdles. Payne won outdoor NCAA and indoor USATF championships in the pole vault.

Photos by Patrick Holleran

One of the surprises of the collegiate season was the emergence of Molly Seidel of the University of Notre Dame. Going into her junior season she was not picked as the likely winner of any NCAA championship races. However, Seidel surprised many when she pulled away from the 10,000 meter field in the last two laps to win the NCAA Championship in the spring. She then emerged as a major contender in cross-country and ended up winning the individual NCAA Championship in that sport. Seidel is the first woman in either track and field or cross-country from Notre Dame to win an NCAA championship.

Photo by Patrick Holleran